«Already in former centuries, the impressive Inn «zu den drei Königen » enjoyed an excellent reputation; the current building, executed in 1842–44, has 120 rooms, with an additional 30 rooms in the annexes. The dining hall is 120 feet long; during meals the table is enhanced by the trickling water of a small fountain. Of special interest is the English prayer chapel: throughout the summer church services are conducted in English by a specially appointed clergyman. The interior fittings and appointments are unparalleled. The highest demands are satisfied here; for example, there are even bathrooms. A unique location, on the banks of the Rhine on the one hand; on the other, towards an open square, which is of inestimable value in a town like Basel, with so many narrow streets.» Wilhelm Theodor Steuber, 1854.
The Grand Hotel Les Trois Rois in Basel